Top Games of 2011

With the end of the year approaching rather quick I wanted to get my top games of 2011 picked before it is 2012!  My criteria for picking my games comes from play-ability, originality and the overall fun factor.  A lot of other places were doing top 10’s or 11’s but I am going to go with the traditional top 3, with some honorable mentions.  So without further ado…I present my top 3 games of 2011:

3. L.A Noire

   This has to be the most unique game I was able to play through this past year.  Rockstar did an amazing job putting you into the investigators shoes and letting you solve crimes in a fun, compelling way.  I also enjoy the era it was set in (late 1940s), it added another layer of style that would have been lacking if it had been set in the current day.  I noticed a lot of people leaving this game out of consideration, but I think it’s a must try if you haven’t yet!

2. Skyrim

Of course the game world is abuzz about Skyrim, and why wouldn’t it be?  The game features some beautiful graphics, fun fights and addicting leveling.  With hundreds of hand made dungeons throughout the game and multiple quest lines this game offers more than enough bang for your buck.  The only reason that I didn’t make Skyrim my number one game is because while massive, it’s not innovative.  The same exact guilds were in Oblivion, and the usual tropes of an RPG where present (how many times must I fetch something for a lazy person?)

1. Portal 2

I actually almost forgot that this game came out this year.  It is my number one game for multiple reasons.  It takes a puzzle game, and makes it engaging, entertaining, and keeps me coming back for more.  Valve set up one of the best geek franchises in the world, and continued the legacy with quirky jokes and crazy test labs.  The game forces you to think in a different way and it feels extra rewarding to get to that final stage and see the end credits.  And who can forget the best reward? Cake! Or better yet, a catchy Jonathan Coulton song.

Honorable Mentions

I have to throw in a couple more games that I enjoyed throughout the year 2011.  While I don’t think they were the best games, there is no doubt that even rehashed games can suck you in.  In no particular order, I give you my honorable mentions!

  • Forza 4
  • Battlefield 3
  • Modern Warfare 3
  • Gears of War 3
  • Mass Effect 2
  • Cataclysm (I know it was 2010, but it came out like 2 weeks before 2011 so I count it…)
And there you have it!  Have any games I didn’t mention, but you really liked?  Feel free to post it and let me know!

I realize I have been writing a lot about games lately, but I do plan on looking into more computer science topics as well here in the near future. The only reason I have not yet written an article about computer science is that it takes me a little longer to think of topics that might be interesting! Stay tuned for one to be posted in the next couple weeks.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Top Games of 2011”

  1. mjsturtevant says :

    I could not agree with your list more!!!!

  2. Michael Leri says :

    Like I said on my blog, good list. I need to get to Skyrim one day.
    Also do you mean Mass Effect 2? If not, I want your time travel device to play Mass Effect 3! 😛

Leave a Reply

